Re: Which Spam Block List to use for a network?

From: Adam Funk (a24061_at_yahoo.com)
Date: 06/19/04

  • Next message: Adam Funk: "Re: Which Spam Block List to use for a network?"
    Date: Sat, 19 Jun 2004 08:13:16 GMT
    To: debian-user@lists.debian.org, debian-isp@lists.debian.org
    
    

    On Saturday 19 June 2004 08:40, Paul Johnson wrote:

    > Spamcop is what I use. I recommend it. I also respectfully demand
    > that for whatever list you use, you reject it WITHOUT mentioning the
    > blackhole list. It's not the list's fault that you decided to use
    > their listings as grounds for rejection, they don't need flak properly
    > directed at you.

    How is the sender (in the case of a false positive) supposed to figure
    out why his mail is rejected? From previous discussions on this group,
    I think we agree that mailrouters should not blindly block all dynamic
    IPs -- how would you feel if someone rejected your mail because it was
    coming from a dynamic IP but didn't tell you that?

    > Furthermore, be sure you have exceptions so
    > mandatory recipients like postmaster and abuse always accept whether
    > or not the sending host is listed in a BL or your site will get listed
    > in rfc-ignorant.org's blacklists around the first time someone who is
    > aware of rfc-ignorant.org tries to report a mail problem or network
    > abuse.

    I just had a look at http://www.rfc-ignorant.org/policy-postmaster.php
    and it seems OK to use blacklists for postmaster, but only if the
    rejection clearly states the reason:

    quote> After careful consideration, there seemed to be a
    quote> consensus among users that use of blacklists, etc., did
    quote> not meet the "narrowly tailored" requirements for
    quote> blocking mail to postmaster, but that it would be
    quote> undesirable to list sites simply for employing the MAPS
    quote> RBL and such on their postmaster address. It was
    quote> decided that we wouldn't list folks if the rejection
    quote> message for postmaster seemed to indicate the reason
    quote> for denial ("{ip} rejected as listed on the MAPS RBL",
    quote> etc.)

    -- 
    To UNSUBSCRIBE, email to debian-user-REQUEST@lists.debian.org 
    with a subject of "unsubscribe". Trouble? Contact listmaster@lists.debian.org
    

  • Next message: Adam Funk: "Re: Which Spam Block List to use for a network?"
    Loading