RE: [SLE] Does anyone know anything about abuse.nl.easynet.net????

From: Tom Nielsen (tom_at_neuro-logic.com)
Date: 09/05/03

  • Next message: Bill Wisse: "[SLE] Mozilla"
    To: Suse <suse-linux-e@suse.com>
    Date: Thu, 04 Sep 2003 23:54:51 -0700
    
    

    I couldn't find out how it got on there other than since it was part of
    the Verizon DSL network, they assumed that anyone sending email directly
    must be a spammer. Shoot first and ask questions later. The guys that
    emailed me had a rather nasty tone to their email. I'll I'm doing is
    finding out how to correct the problem and they're coping a 'tude. Beats
    me.

    Thanks for your feedback.

    tom

    On Thu, 2003-09-04 at 23:16, M. Edwin wrote:

    > Hai Tom.
    >
    > Maybe someone test your company IP address on abuse.nl and the result is
    > your smtp is open for relaying. Then any other mail server who used RBL and
    > point to abuse.nl database automatically reject all the email come from your
    > smtp. I think you can remove your IP from the list because other database
    > provide this thing (for example http://abuse.net). Be carefull to test your
    > IP for open relay, because some place directly put your IP into their abuse
    > database if the test result is open relay. You can use site like
    > http://members.iinet.net.au/~remmie/relay/ to test open relay without
    > putting the result into abuse database.
    >
    >
    > Kind Regards,
    > M. Edwin
    >
    > -----Original Message-----
    > From: Tom Nielsen [mailto:tom@neuro-logic.com]
    > Sent: Friday, September 05, 2003 12:55 PM
    > To: Suse
    > Subject: [SLE] Does anyone know anything about abuse.nl.easynet.net????
    >
    > Here's the story, the other day I tried sending an email from my office to
    > my linuxmail.org account. A little later I received an email saying:
    >
    > This is the Postfix program at host neuro-logic.com.
    >
    > I'm sorry to have to inform you that the message returned below could not be
    > delivered to one or more destinations.
    >
    > For further assistance, please send mail to <postmaster>
    >
    > If you do so, please include this problem report. You can delete your own
    > text from the message returned below.
    >
    > The Postfix program
    >
    > <twn2@linuxmail.org>: host linuxmail-org.mr.outblaze.com[205.158.62.134]
    > said:
    > 554 EMail from mailserver at 4.3.812.158 is refused. See
    > http://spamblock.outblaze.com/4.3.812.158 (in reply to RCPT TO
    > command)
    >
    > So I contacted the company which ended up being abuse.nl.easynet.net and
    > told them that my company has this IP and we're not sending spam. I later
    > get a reply from them saying:
    >
    > Please provide us with at least one of the delisting criteria outlined at
    > http://dynablock.easynet.nl/errors.html. Neither www.neuro-logic.com nor any
    > of neuro-logic.com's mail records point to this IP address, and 4.3.812.158
    > points to 'lsanca1-812-158.lsanca1.dsl-verizon.net', which is a generic DSL
    > IP address, not different from Verizon's dynamic IP pools.
    >
    > Now, my ISP, Verizon, allows me to use a mailserver. It's not a real mail
    > server, but what I do is use fetchmail to get mail from my webhost then
    > download it to my mail server at the office. Outgoing mail is also sent
    > through my mail server. So I guess they can't see my IP.
    >
    > Does this make sense to anyone? How do I get these yahoos to drop me from a
    > spam list??
    >
    > Thanks for the input.
    >
    > Tom
    >
    >
    >
    > - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    >
    > Tom Nielsen
    > Neuro Logic Systems, Inc.
    > 805.389.5435 x18
    > www.neuro-logic.com

    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

    Tom Nielsen
    Neuro Logic Systems, Inc.
    805.389.5435 x18
    www.neuro-logic.com


  • Next message: Bill Wisse: "[SLE] Mozilla"

    Relevant Pages

    • Re: Parsing Filtered mail
      ... this is exactly what I spent a portion of this week ... didn't use anything in Outlook as I didn't see ... running automatically on the mail server independant of the Outlook ... to the MySQL database server to view/edit/handle the data ... ...
      (microsoft.public.outlook)
    • RE: [SLE] Does anyone know anything about abuse.nl.easynet.net????
      ... Hai Tom. ... your smtp is open for relaying. ... I think you can remove your IP from the list because other database ... download it to my mail server at the office. ...
      (SuSE)
    • Re: all incoming mail is being blocked
      ... SORBS, like may other RBL organizations, maintains a database which can ... Mail server admins use these DNS databases as ... SORBS does not block anything. ...
      (microsoft.public.windows.server.sbs)
    • Re: [PATCH] barrier patch set
      ... For IDE based database and mail server benchmarks, ... can do except provide an aio fsync call. ... send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in ...
      (Linux-Kernel)
    • Re: [SLE] Does anyone know anything about abuse.nl.easynet.net????
      ... many unsecured machines on the Verizon DSL network that are being abused to ... your outgoing mail to go through Verizon's mail server. ... class connection and have then configure DNS and rDNS (The reverse DNS is ...
      (SuSE)