Re: FW: [SLE] rejected email to list

From: Art Fore (art.fore_at_comcast.net)
Date: 06/30/05

  • Next message: Mike: "Re: [SLE] Can the 9.1 installer resize an NTFS partition?"
    Date: Thu, 30 Jun 2005 09:17:18 -0700
    
    

    Greg Wallace wrote:
    > On Thursday, June 30, 2005 @ 4:26 AM, I wrote:
    >
    >>On Wednesday, June 29, 2005 @ 7:23 AM, Art Fore wrote:
    >
    >
    >>><suse-linux-e@lists.suse.com>:
    >>>ezmlm-reject: fatal: message already has a Mailing-List header (maybe I
    >>>should be a sublist) (#5.7.2)
    >
    >
    >>>--- Below this line is a copy of the message.
    >
    >
    >>>Return-Path: <art.fore@comcast.net>
    >>>Received: (qmail 26996 invoked from network); 29 Jun 2005 15:18:38 -0000
    >>>Received: from unknown (HELO Relay2.suse.de) (195.135.221.8)
    >>> by 0 with SMTP; 29 Jun 2005 15:18:38 -0000
    >>>Received: from Relay2.suse.de (localhost [127.0.0.1])
    >>> by Relay2.suse.de (Postfix) with ESMTP id 41B43451E
    >>> for <suse-linux-e@lists.suse.com>; Wed, 29 Jun 2005 17:18:38 +0200
    >>>(CEST)
    >>>Received: from Relay2.suse.de ([127.0.0.1])
    >>> by Relay2.suse.de (Relay2 [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10026) with
    >>>ESMTP
    >>> id 06960-09 for <suse-linux-e@lists.suse.com>;
    >>> Wed, 29 Jun 2005 17:18:37 +0200 (CEST)
    >>>Received: from mx2.suse.de (ns2.suse.de [195.135.220.15])
    >>> (using TLSv1 with cipher DHE-RSA-AES256-SHA (256/256 bits))
    >>> (No client certificate requested)
    >>> by Relay2.suse.de (Postfix) with ESMTP id 150234509
    >>> for <suse-linux-e@lists.suse.com>; Wed, 29 Jun 2005 17:18:36 +0200
    >>>(CEST)
    >>>Received: from sccrmhc14.comcast.net (sccrmhc14.comcast.net
    >>>[204.127.202.59])
    >>> by mx2.suse.de (Postfix) with ESMTP id 9B6951D29B
    >>> for <suse-linux-e@suse.com>; Wed, 29 Jun 2005 17:18:36 +0200 (CEST)
    >>>Received: from [192.168.121.33]
    >>>(adsl-71-129-145-33.dsl.pltn13.pacbell.net[71.129.145.33])
    >>> by comcast.net (sccrmhc14) with ESMTP
    >>> id <20050629151826014003p666e>; Wed, 29 Jun 2005 15:18:32 +0000
    >>>Message-ID: <42C2BBBB.5080804@comcast.net>
    >>>Date: Wed, 29 Jun 2005 08:18:19 -0700
    >>>From: Art Fore <art.fore@comcast.net>
    >>>User-Agent: Mozilla Thunderbird 1.0.2 (Windows/20050317)
    >>>X-Accept-Language: en-us, en
    >>>MIME-Version: 1.0
    >>>To: suse-linux-e@suse.com
    >>>Subject: SPAM: Evolution-Thunderbird
    >>>Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1; format=flowed
    >>>Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
    >>>X-Virus-Scanned: by amavisd-new at Relay2.suse.de
    >>>X-Spam-Status: Yes, hits=5.4 tagged_above=-20.0 required=5.0
    >>>tests=BAYES_80,
    >>> DNS_FROM_RFC_POST, DNS_FROM_RFC_WHOIS
    >>>X-Spam-Level: *****
    >>>X-Spam-Flag: YES
    >
    >
    >>This line seems to stick out --
    >
    >
    >>Received: from [192.168.121.33]
    >
    >
    >>Why is there no name attached to 192.168.121.33? To a spam filter, it
    >>would
    >>seem it would look like it was coming from an address with no real sender
    >>(maybe like it's being generated from some sort of spam engine). Sort of
    >>like you getting a note from me and the "From" being blank.
    >
    >
    >>Greg Wallace
    >
    >
    > I have previously relayed messages through my email account from inside
    > another network and gotten messages back saying I wasn't a registered user.
    > Maybe if the address had been missing my name I would have gotten a spam
    > message instead. Are the messages you have been sending that have been
    > getting trough being relayed, or are you sending those directly from your
    > suse-linux-e registered email address?
    >
    > Greg W.
    >
    >
    >
    I am sending from thunderbird on Windows (unfortunately since I am at
    work) on our internal network. the 192.168.121.33 is my ip address on
    the network which is behind a firewall (Sonic I think). Our internet
    connection is through a PacBell DSL connection. My email accound is on
    Comcast.net. I don't understand why my machine ip address is shown,
    seems like that should be from the NAT on the routers.firewall.

    Also. some email does get through such as the original from this thread
    and some of my replys. Would like to see the headers to those emails
    that do get by, but can't do that.

    Art

    -- 
    Check the headers for your unsubscription address
    For additional commands send e-mail to suse-linux-e-help@suse.com
    Also check the archives at http://lists.suse.com
    Please read the FAQs: suse-linux-e-faq@suse.com
    

  • Next message: Mike: "Re: [SLE] Can the 9.1 installer resize an NTFS partition?"

    Relevant Pages

    • Re: [OT] Re: binary of gcc and gfortran shapshot 20080125 for windows
      ... Please take a time to make sure what the definition of "spam" is. ... not your email account or your property. ... One example of that particular postulate being used in a way ... I didn't think they would need a reminder every Thursday ...
      (comp.lang.fortran)
    • Re: More on The Watch-Spam
      ... the Watches spam is: ... change your fake return email address a little bit so that their spam- ... You should try out your fake email account by sending yourself some ... For the non-gmail accounts, yeah, your suggestion is quite workable. ...
      (rec.martial-arts)
    • Re: I got this in my email today. What do you think?
      ... not acknowledging every unsubstantiated e-mail which hits our receivers. ... Email address from this kind of thing and all spam. ... I have an email account that I use strictly for distribution to lists of local people belonging to groups here on the island. ... I've never posted the address on a web site and use a "reply to" so that responses go to my primary email account. ...
      (soc.retirement)
    • Scripting of Email Headers
      ... I'm lucky that I held on to an email account whose domain enables me to have an infinite number of aliases. ... That's great for registering with on-line providers because I can craft a unique contact email address for each provider and when the spam arrives I know the culprit, because the spam will be addressed to the email address I registered with them. ...
      (microsoft.public.windowsxp.basics)
    • Re: Long distance touring and local ride journal website
      ... blogs with spam and porn I can report them to their isp and ban the ip ... So you have a blog or journal that accepts comments from visitors. ... How does requiring the user to have an email account from "gmail.com ...
      (rec.bicycles.misc)