RE: Open Office problems





From: Kamal Paryani
On Mon, Dec 22, 2008 at 3:22 AM, Richard Crossland
<xland33@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote:
Karl,
I just checked and the first one is www.openoffice.org
which I believe
to be the official URL. What address do you get?

Richard

On Sun, Dec 21, 2008 at 9:31 PM, Karl F. Larsen
<klarsen1@xxxxxxxxx> wrote:

Mark Kirkwood wrote:
Karl F. Larsen wrote:

Robert Holtzman wrote:


On Sun, 21 Dec 2008, ruscook wrote:


Well, *I* certainly had no idea that there were
Openoffice scams that
somehow get to have Google sponsored links.
This is a fact. Prove it to yourself by in Google put
open office
and then check out the first listing. It IS a sham.

i just googled open office
the first result was www.openoffice.org
kamal

Well, I get this;
http://openoffice.org-suite.com/2/index.asp?aff=101&camp=gg_oo_us&se=goo
gle

Looks right, but smells real bad. It is a sponsored link with a
disclaimer at the bottom of the site that says it is not associated with
the writers of the program. Google even puts "OpenOffice.org" in a
larger font so it looks legit. I am sorry, but I would call this a
scam. It doesn't have to be malware, just deceptive. I guess I am so
jaded I skip over this kind of dreck automatically, so I had to take
second a look.

For a change, I'd have to give this one to Karl.


lalalalala






























The information contained in this message and any attachment may be
proprietary, confidential, and privileged or subject to the work
product doctrine and thus protected from disclosure. If the reader
of this message is not the intended recipient, or an employee or
agent responsible for delivering this message to the intended
recipient, you are hereby notified that any dissemination,
distribution or copying of this communication is strictly prohibited.
If you have received this communication in error, please notify me
immediately by replying to this message and deleting it and all
copies and backups thereof. Thank you.



--
ubuntu-users mailing list
ubuntu-users@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Modify settings or unsubscribe at: https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/ubuntu-users



Relevant Pages

  • RE: Python licence again
    ... Subject: Re: Python licence again ... try spelling license correctly next time and heading the google ... distribution or copying of this communication is strictly prohibited. ...
    (comp.lang.python)
  • Re: Worst Predictions of All Time
    ... not the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that any disclosure, ... The information contained in this communication (including any ... For IBM-MAIN subscribe / signoff / archive access instructions, ... send email to listserv@xxxxxxxxxxx with the message: GET IBM-MAIN INFO ...
    (bit.listserv.ibm-main)
  • Re: ftp hacking.
    ... System Analyst ... If you are not the intended recipient, ... communication in error, please notify the sender immediately and delete ... To join/leave the list, search archives, change list settings, * ...
    (comp.sys.hp.mpe)
  • RE: Free IDS Download
    ... Norma Jean Sebastian ... Subject: Free IDS Download ... intended recipient, you are hereby notified that any reproduction, ... If you have received this communication in error, ...
    (comp.databases.informix)
  • Re: [Full-Disclosure] visa XSS?
    ... > be a customer DSL was great from them because they knew nothing about ... > bandwidth management and I took a entry levle class with a senior ... > delivering this message to the intended recipient, ... If you have received this communication in error, ...
    (Full-Disclosure)

Loading