Do not buy from Tux CDs, they are fraudsters

From: Richard Cavell (richardcavell_at_mail.com)
Date: 07/28/04


Date: Thu, 29 Jul 2004 05:35:08 +1000

Tux CDs is the name of a website that appears to sell Linux
distributions on CD. www.linuxiso.org is a website run by Lance Barbour
from Florida, that appears to sell linux cds using Tux CDs as a distributor.

I paid for a Debian distribution 2 months ago and have not received my
CDs. To verify, please log onto my account at:

https://www.tuxcds.com/status.php

Order 13357
email: richardcavell@hotmail.com

and you will see that they are still 'processing' my order. My credit
card has been debited more than $20 USD. But no CDs have been sent.

I have emailed them about ten times, with no response. linuxiso.org
have also given me no response. I called Tux CD around midday US time
on a Wednesday, and got an answering machine. The answering machine
appears to be full.

Because I paid by credit card, my money's safe, but I want to warn
people for the future:

DO NOT BUY FROM TUX CDS. THEY ARE FRAUDSTERS.
DO NOT BUY FROM LANCE BARBOUR OR LINUXISO.ORG. THEY ARE NOT TRUSTWORTHY.

[Apologies for cross-posting/multiple posting]